I’M IN LAIKA/HOUSE’S JANUARY CREATIVE CHALLENGE!

This month, Laika created an awesome challenge called, “Seven Deadly Unicorn Sins”. For the challenge, you pick out which sin you want to do, and base your unicorn on that. I chose gluttony! I thought it would be hilarious to see him sitting on the couch munching away mindlessly on a chocolate candy bar! To vote  for my unicorn visit this short link: http://on.fb.me/10qVcpj If you have a Facebook account, cast your vote by “like” ing my creation! The unicorn with the most “likes” win :D!! Polls close on Jan. 25th at 1pm ET. If you are feeling more generous, please share this on your wall :)! Thank you for your support!! Have a great week!

Below I take you through the process of bringing my lazy, gluttonous unicorn to life!

Like a drawing, I roughed out the shapes of my unicorn. I didn't worry about details at this point. My only concern was the scale of him compared to the couch he would sit on. Also, in order for little guy to bake faster, it's good practice to roll out your super sculpey, and wrap it over a ball of tin foil. That way he's not too heavy either. I did the same for his head, and the top mouth.

Like a drawing, I roughed out the shapes of my unicorn. I didn’t worry about details at this point. My only concern was the scale of him compared to the couch he would sit on. Also, in order for little guy to bake faster, it’s good practice to roll out your super sculpey, and wrap it over a ball of tin foil. That way he’s not too heavy either. I did the same for his head, and the top mouth.

Here are just a few of my carving a shaping tools! Anything with a sharp or interesting shaped point will aid in bringing your creation to life! For example, the wooden dowel with blunt ends on the left(underneath the double sided carving tool)was in fact from an old doll house.

Here are just a few of my carving a shaping tools! Anything with a sharp or interesting shaped point will aid in bringing your creation to life! For example, the wooden dowel with blunt ends on the left(underneath the double sided carving tool)was in fact from an old doll house.

Here I begin to carve the inside of the eye!

Here I begin to carve the inside of the eye!

Unicorn Carving!

Here his stomach begins to take shape!

After carving and shaping all the detail, in addition to adding some features(like nostrils, eyelids, the horn, ears, mouth, etc.), I then lay a piece of plastic wrap over my little guy.

After carving and shaping all the detail, in addition to adding some features(like nostrils, eyelids, the horn, ears, mouth, etc.), I then lay a piece of plastic wrap over my little guy.

I use the plastic wrap to help smooth any rough edges. In my opinion, I think it's ok to not get every last imperfection since its like your character got it's own "texture". Additionally, it would just drive you nuts! Have fun with it :)

I use the plastic wrap to help smooth any rough edges. In my opinion, I think it’s ok to not get every last imperfection since its like your character got it’s own “texture”. Additionally, it would just drive you nuts! Have fun with it 🙂

After rolling some small pieces of super sculpey, I attached them to his face. I then used one of detail carving tools to blend the eyelids into place. This is the same method for attaching facial features and the ears as well. For the neck, I made lines and carved away to round them out. It's a mix of carving and smoothing a bunch of times until you get a desired effect.

After rolling some small pieces of super sculpey, I attached them to his face. I then used one of detail carving tools to blend the eyelids into place. This is the same method for attaching facial features and the ears as well. For the neck, I made lines and carved away to round them out. It’s a mix of carving and smoothing a bunch of times until you get a desired effect.

This is what it looks like after carving my unicorn after a good while. The shavings remind me ones from an apple! Kinda, but not really.

This is what it looks like after carving my unicorn after a good while. The shavings remind me ones from an apple! Kinda, but not really.

Next I am going to eat....I mean bake him in the oven! It took me only 45 minutes to cook him. I totally forgot about the remote, which ended up burnt when I took the tray out! But that's ok, since I was going to paint it anyway.

Next I am going to eat….I mean bake him in the oven! It took me only 45 minutes to cook him. I totally forgot about the remote, which ended up burnt when I took the tray out! But that’s ok, since I was going to paint it anyway.

By not having any irises and his tongue sticking out, it looks like I've hunted a unicorn! This is also before I baked him.

By not having any irises and his tongue sticking out, it looks like I’ve hunted a unicorn! This is also before I baked him.

A close up of his face before baking him.

A close up of his face before baking him.

I finally paint him using acrylic!

I finally paint him using acrylic!

Here he is in all of his glory! I also made a TV I made from a cereal box. I then covered it in orange construction paper. The antenna is just armature wire sitting on a wingnut. His mane and tail are cut from a ball of fancy scarf yarn.

Here he is in all of his glory! I also made a TV I made from a cereal box. I then covered it in orange construction paper. The antenna is just armature wire sitting on a wingnut. His mane and tail are cut from a ball of fancy scarf yarn.

Here is another view of my gluttonous unicorn scarfing down his chocolate! His goal for New Year's is to find THE best chocolate bar while watching Top Chef! Oh and by the way, the TV's buttons are cut from cushion foam. I also cut a square of plastic wrap for the TV screen(so it reflects a little). The TV stand is also made from a cereal box, and then was simply covered in brown construction paper. I finally decorated the scene with random candy trash. The white table and lamp are from my mom's old dollhouse. The couch he's sitting on was cut and made from blue insulation foam. It was then covered using an old pair of corduroy pants. This is an older prop I grabbed from my second stop motion film. Here is the link to my "Lulu" film it premiered in! href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOLXf3hm4Js"

Here is another view of my gluttonous unicorn scarfing down his chocolate! His goal for New Year’s is to find THE best chocolate bar while watching Top Chef! Oh and by the way, the TV’s buttons are cut from cushion foam. I also cut a square of plastic wrap for the TV screen(so it reflects a little). The TV stand is also made from a cereal box, and then was simply covered in brown construction paper. I finally decorated the scene with random candy trash. The white table and lamp are from my mom’s old dollhouse. The couch he’s sitting on was cut and made from blue insulation foam. It was then covered using an old pair of corduroy pants. This is an older prop I grabbed from my second stop motion film. Here is the link to my “Lulu” film it premiered in! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOLXf3hm4Js

Leave a Reply

