A new year, a new puppet

Do you remember this guy? If you’re too busy to click, here is a character I developed this past summer:

My "Wind in the Willows"-inspired frog.

My “Wind in the Willows”-inspired frog.

I wanted to make him into something special eventually, and I gave in to temptation. I am working on turning my frog into a stop-motion puppet! It’s so exciting!

I still have more to accomplish with his construction, but have documented the building process so far in the slideshow below. Once I make more progress, I will add more photos.

Scroll through and watch the frog come to life!

The first step was to draw a quick outline of my character design. It will serve as a template for my wire armature. This is so I can make it the same size as the outline and everything is to scale.

The first step was to draw a quick outline of my character design. It will serve as a template for my wire armature. This is so I can make it the same size as the outline and everything is to scale.

Next is building the armature. The wire armature with epoxied joints  keeps them stronger as I'm animating. I also wrapped athletic tape around them for more strength, which is documented later on.

Next is building the armature. The wire armature with epoxied joints keeps them stronger as I’m animating. I also wrapped athletic tape around them for more strength, which is documented later on.

Now, I'm outlining it onto the foam padding. I left extra room around the outline to cut so that gluing  pieces together is easier.

Now, I’m outlining it onto the foam padding. I left extra room around the outline to cut so that gluing pieces together is easier.

Once he's outlined, I begin to cut the foam.

Once he’s outlined, I begin to cut the foam.

Now, the armature is being "sandwiched" inside the foam.

Now, the armature is being “sandwiched” inside the foam.

And next, the limbs are done being glued!

And next, the limbs are done being glued!

The stomach and back get stuffed and glued into place before going on to the next step.

The stomach and back get stuffed and glued into place before going on to the next step.

Time to wrap it up!

Time to wrap it up!

The torso and neck are wrapped securely! It's legs have just begun to take shape.

The torso and neck are wrapped securely! It’s legs have just begun to take shape.

One response to “A new year, a new puppet

  1. Pingback: Ribbets and Rivets | Dorothy Groesbeck·

Leave a Reply

